top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTanya Keough

Never Make Assumptions


In life, it's only natural we make assumptions. Sometimes, these can pay off. For example, when its summer time and sunny, you can assume you need sunscreen. Thats a fair assumption and one that is informed and based on facts, truth, objectives. Wear sunscreen = reduce your risk of sunburn and associated adverse events. In other circumstances, they can really bite us in the ass. We assume if we live a healthy life, fill our days with nourishing food choices, regular exercise that elevates our heart rate and pumps our systems with endorphins (often fanatical in my own daily life) and maintain a positive outlook filled with gratitude and amazing individuals we deserve to have the rewards reciprocated. Right? I told you not to make assumptions.

I was and still am one of those health-nut people. I will continue to run marathons (maybe half marathons?), make my own protein bars, homemade cereal, eat daily smoothies and hard boiled eggs while letting all the love in around me -despite receiving life altering news yesterday.

I have a cancer in my blood. What? Yeah, I said it. How has my nourished, constantly moving 5'0" (five feet and a half actually) 34 year old body done this to me? It has never let me down. Not while working three jobs in med school, running 12 marathons or being an orthopaedic surgery/family medicine resident. I feel totally betrayed. Yet, its not going anywhere and I have many choices to make moving forward. That includes dismantling assumptions. So here we go, this is how it all went down. I'm still hoping there is a fairy tale ending.

251 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page